Adding new books to TMBOA – Vote Here!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Adding new books to TMBOA – Vote Here!

  1. Some of my books haven’t moved for 5 or 6 months at all. So far, I keep tagging, but I’m getting discouraged. My latest books, those posted this year, have reached a maximum of 35 tags.

    It seems that strong measures are needed.

    Thanks Todd, for all you’ve done for us,
    Stan

  2. Some of my books haven’t moved for at least 5 or 6 months at all. So far, I keep tagging, but I’m getting discouraged. My latest books, those posted this year, have reached a maximum of 35 tags.

    It seems that strong measures are needed.

    Thanks Todd, for all you’ve done for us,
    Stan

  3. Robert Mykle

    On the surface, I like the idea. Even I am guilty of tagging only a few books after some 60 people tagged mine. THANK YOU ALL. To retag 60 is a chore, I understand but we can all do more. And your site makes it about as easy as it gets.
    Todd you have a dilemma. If you want compliance then yes require at least 5-10 author tags however if you want more people to register at your site, forced tagging might hinder that quest.

    RobertMykle
    http://www.RobertMykle.com

  4. Todd, Thanks for all you’ve done!
    I only have one book so far and it was published in March 2010. I have tagged all the way back to Dec 09 and plan to tag all of 2009 in intervals. I have made a commitment to tag at the end of each current month. So my vote was that newbies, like me, should at least take the time and go back through 2010.
    Thanks
    Donna Lee Comer

  5. Todd,

    This a great idea. To address the concern that people may turn away if required to tag first, the language discussing a tagging requirement (if chosen) could be accompanied by a link to testimonials showing how effective tagging is. I’ve certainly benefited, and I’ve passed the message on to numerous author sites. Tagging works, but only if we support each other. I’m off to tag July!

    Antoine

  6. The Cure (hardcover and Kindle) is listed 2 & 3 in the Medical Thriller category, and 3 & 4 in the Breast Cancer category. It only took 6 months of tagging to reach first page status. Thank you Todd!

    Antoine Maurice Devine
    http://www.amdevine.com

  7. Clifford Neal

    I personally have no problem requiring mandatory tagging of all books on file but realize it is a huge undertaking. This brings to mind to ask if it is possible to simplify the process of going through the archives in order to speed up the work for new entrants. If so, that would help.

    Next best would be a requirement to tag 3 months of files with an agreement to tag three more months every month until all are tagged. There would need to be some means of verifying that the tagging is being done, it seems to me.

    I know it was not an easy thing to do but I managed to go through all the archives in a few months.

    Thanks for your wonderful effort. We all owe you big time.

  8. i can’t be sure i’ll ever complete a list. i have been digging in for 20 minutes at a time and i try to tag everything but i might’ve skipped one or two or three. i’m trying my best here but if i had known there was a requirement to tag EVERY book i probably would never have started – not because i don’t want to, but because i don’t think i can keep track. (i don’t think it was clearly explained in any of your ‘how-to’ posts that we are supposed to tag ‘every’ book.)

    based on the comments above, though, it’s clear there are people who posts books and don’t tag any. i thought the guidelines said you would remove those people, which i find perfectly understandable. but i’m making a good faith effort here and i’d hate to be penalized after spending hours of my time because i’d missed a few books on the list.

  9. I gave myself a painful wrist tagging the books but I didn’t mind because I hope that means that other people will make the effort as well. It didn’t help that I didn’t realise about double clicking T for the first few months either. I may have missed a couple each month but that was because the links didn’t work.

    If you look at my Ceri Clark profile on Amazon I’ve tagged 718 products, does that sound about right?

Leave a Reply

